اشترِ 21 درساً

21 درساً للقرن الواحد والعشرين

في عالمٍ اليوم الغارق بالمعلومات غير المهمة، فإنّ الوضوح سلطة. والرقابة لم تعد تحجب دفق المعلومات، بل تغمر الناس بالمعلومات الكاذبة والمشتتات. يستدعي كتاب “21 درساً للقرن الواحد والعشرين” هذه الإشكالات الشائكة الملتبسة، ويتصدّى لبعضٍ من أكثر الأسئلة إلحاحاً على أجندة عالم اليوم.

لم الديموقراطية الليبرالية في مأزق؟ هل نشهدُعودة الأديان؟ هل هناك حرب عالمية قادمة؟ ما الذي يعنيه صعود دونالد ترامب؟ ما الذي يمكننا أن نفعله بشأن وباء الأخبار الكاذبة؟ أيُّ الحضارات تسيطر على العالم؛ الغرب أم الصين أم الإسلام؟ هل يجب على أوروبا أن تبقي أبوابها مفتوحة للمهاجرين؟ هل تستطيع الوطنية أن تحل مشاكل انعدام المساواة والتغير المناخي؟ ما الذي علينا فعله بشأن الإرهاب؟ ما الذي علينا تعليمه لأطفالنا؟

إننا، كحال بلايين البشر، لا نملك رفاهية من الوقتِ لبحث هذه الأسئلة واستقصاء إجاباتها، لأنّنا مشغولون بما هو ألحُّ، مشغولون بالذهاب إلى العملِ ورعايةِ أطفالنا وآبائنا المسنين. ولسوء الحظِ، لا يُقدّم التاريخ مقايضات ولا تنازلات، فإنّ قُرِّرَ مستقبل البشرية في غيابكَ؛ لانشغالك بإطعام أطفالك وكسوتهم، فلن تستثنيكَ العواقب ولن تستثنيهم. هذا ظلمٌ فادحٌ، لكن من قال أنّ التاريخ عادلٌ؟

هذا الكتابُ لا يمنح الناس طعاماً ولا يكسوهم، لكنه قد يمنحهم بعض الوضوح، وبالتالي يعزز من فرصهم في بحث الأسئلة والإجابة عليها. وإن نجح هذا الكتاب في تمكين بضعة أناس للمشاركة في النقاش حول مستقبل نوعنا، فإنه قد حقق وظيفته وأدّى مهمته.

حول الكتاب

بعد أن فحص كتاب “العاقل” بعمقٍ تاريخ البشرية، واهتم كتاب “الإنسان الإله” بوجودنا في مستقبل يصنعه التصميم الذكي، فإنّ كتاب “21 درساً للقرن الواحد والعشرين” يتوقف عند الأسئلة الكبرى للحظة الراهنة. ما الذي يحدث حقاً الآن؟ وما هي تحديات اليوم الكبرى وخياراته؟ ما الذي يجب أن نهتم به؟

يبني كتاب “21 درساً” على الأفكار التي استُعرضتْ وبُحِثَتْ في الكتابين السابقين ليجس نبض عالمنا الراهن. إنه يفكّك ما تشابك من أسئلة سياسية وتقنية واجتماعية ووجودية، ويبرز تأثيرها جميعاً على حياة البشر اليومية في مختلف أرجاء العالم. ويبرزُ الكتابُ التحديدات المعقدة المعاصرة بوضوح وسلاسة، ويدعو الكتاب القارئ ليهتم بالقيم والمعنى والالتزام الشخصي في عالم مليء بالضوضاء والريبة.

اشترِ 21 درساً

اختر اللغة

Buy 21 Lessons

21 Lessons for the 21st Century

In a world deluged by irrelevant information, clarity is power. Censorship works not by blocking the flow of information, but rather by flooding people with disinformation and distractions. 21 Lessons for the 21st Century cuts through these muddy waters and confronts some of the most urgent questions on today’s global agenda.

Why is liberal democracy in crisis? Is God back? Is a new world war coming? What does the rise of Donald Trump signify? What can we do about the epidemic of fake news? Which civilisation dominates the world – the West, China, Islam? Should Europe keep its doors open to immigrants? Can nationalism solve the problems of inequality and climate change? What should we do about terrorism? What should we teach our kids?

Billions of us can hardly afford the luxury of investigating these questions, because we have more pressing things to do: we have to go to work, take care of the kids, or look after elderly parents. Unfortunately, history makes no concessions. If the future of humanity is decided in your absence, because you are too busy feeding and clothing your kids – you and they will not be exempt from the consequences. This is very unfair; but who said history was fair?

A book doesn’t give people food or clothes – but it can offer some clarity, thereby helping to level the global playing field. If this book empowers even a handful of people to join the debate about the future of our species, it has done its job.

ABOUT THE BOOK

After Sapiens looked deep into humankind’s past and Homo Deus considered our existence in a future powered by intelligent design – 21 Lessons for the 21st Century stops to focus on the biggest questions of the present moment. What is really happening right now? What are today’s greatest challenges and choices? What should we pay attention to?

21 Lessons builds on the ideas explored in the previous two books to take the pulse of our current global climate. It untangles political, technological, social and existential questions, and highlights how they impact the everyday lives of humans worldwide. By presenting complex contemporary challenges clearly and accessibly, the book invites the reader to consider values, meaning and personal engagement in world full of noise and uncertainty.

Buy 21 Lessons

Choose Language