عن المؤلف

البروفيسور يوفال نوح هراري مؤرخٌ وفيلسوفٌ ومؤلفٌ ذائعُ الصيتِ، أصدَرَ “العاقلُ: تاريخٌ مختصر للبشريةِ”، و”الإنسانُ الإلهُ: موجزُ تاريخِ الغدِ”، و”21 درساً للقرنِ الحادي والعشرين”، و”العاقل: تاريخٌ مرسوم”. وقد ترجمت كتبه إلى 65 لغة وبِيع منها أكثر من 35 مليون نسخة، ويُعدّ هراري أحد أكثر المفكرين تأثيراً عالمياً.

وُلد هراري في حيفا بإسرائيل في عام 1976، وحصل على شهادة الدكتوراة من جامعة أكسفورد في عام 2002، وهو حالياً محاضر في قسم التاريخ، في الجامعة العبرية في القدس. وإثر الرواج العالمي لكتبه، أسّس يوفال نوح هراري مع زوجه ووكيله الأوّل إسحاق ياهاف في عام 2019 Sapienship، وهي شركة ترمي إلى تحقيق تأثير اجتماعي، وخصوصاً في مجالات الترفيه والتعليم، هادفة أساساً إلى أن تبرز أهمّ التحديات العالمية الملحة واضعة إيّاها على أجندة الحوار العام.

في عامي 2018 و2020، ألقى يوفال نوح هراري خطاباً رئيساً حول مستقبل البشرية في المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي في دافوس. يناقش هراري المواضيع العالمية باستمرار مع رؤساء الدول، وقد أجرى نقاشات عامة مع رئيس الوزراء الهولندي مارك روته ومع المستشار النمساوي سِبستيان كورتز ورئيس الوزراء اليوناني كرياكوس ميتسوتاكيس. والتقى أيضاً بالرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون والمستشارة الألمانية أنجيلا ميركل ورئيس الأرجنتين ماوريسيو ماكري ورئيس ألمانيا فرانك فالتر شتاينماير ورئيس بلدية شنغهاي ينج يونج. وفي عام 2019، التقى يوفال في حوار مرئي مع مارك زَكربيرج الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Facebook حول التقنية ومستقبل المجتمع. وفي عام 2018، قدّم هراري كلمة في منتدىTED، وكانت تلك أوّل كلمة تُلقى بتقنية هولوجرام الرقمية في المنتدى.

تخصّص البروفِسور هراري، أكاديمياً، في تاريخِ العالمِ وتاريخِ العصورِ الوسطى والتاريخ العسكري. ويركّز في أبحاثه الحالية على أسئلة تاريخية كبرى مثل: ما هي العلاقة بين التاريخ والبيولوجيا؟ ما هو الفرق الأساسي بين الإنسانِ العاقلِ والحيواناتِ الأخرىِ؟ هل توجدُ عدالةٌ في التاريخ؟ هل للتاريخِ اتجاهٌ؟ هل غدا الناسُ أسعدَ عبرَ التاريخ؟ ما هي الأسئلةُ الأخلاقيةُ التي يثيرها العلمُ والتكنولوجيا في القرن الحادي والعشرين؟

وقد أضحى كتاب هراري “العاقلُ: تاريخٌ مختصرٌ للنوع البشري” عقب نشره في عام 2014 من أفضلِ الكتبِ مبيعاً عالمياً، فقد بيعت منه أكثر من 21 مليون نسخة، وكان ضمن قائمةِ أفضلِ 10 كتبٍ مبيعاً في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز، وظلّ في هذه القائمة أكثر من نصف الفترة التي بيع فيها الكتاب في الولايات المتحدة، أي أكثر من ست سنوات. واحتلّ المراكز الثلاثة الأولى في قائمة صنداي تايمز للكتب الأكثر مبيعاً لمدة 96 أسبوعاً متتالياً. أوصى بقراءة الكتابِ كل من باراك أوباما وبيل جيتس وناتالي بورتمان وجانيلا مونيه كريس إيفانز وآخرون. نسبت صحيفة الجارديان الفضل لكتاب العاقل في إحداث ثورة في سوق الكتب غير الأدبية والترويج “للكتب الفكرية”.

وفي عام 2016 نشر البروفيسور هراري كتابه “الإنسانُ الإلهُ: تاريخِ وجيز للغد“، وهو كتابٌ نالَ استحساناً كبيراً لدراسته التحوّلات الكبرى التي تواجه مستقبل البشرية في القرن الحادي والعشرين. باع الكتاب منذ نشره أكثر من 9 ملايين نسخة عالمياً.

وبعد استكشاف هراري ماضي البشرية السحيق ومستقبلها الآتي في كتابيه الأوّلين، نشرَ في عام 2018 كتابَ “21 درساً للقرن الحادي والعشرين”، جاسّاً فيه نبض العالم بمشاكله الراهنة وأسئلته الكبرى: ما حقيقةُ الأحداثِ القائمةِ؟ وما هي أعظمُ الخياراتِ والتحدياتِ اليوم؟ ما الذي يجب أن يستوقف انتباهنا؟ وقد بيع من الكتاب أكثر من 5 ملايين نسخة في العالم.

في عام 2020، تعاون هراري (كمبدع وكاتب مشارك) مع فنان القصص المصورة (الكومكس) الشهير ديفيد فاندرميولن (كاتب مشارك) ودانيل كاساناف (رسّام)، لإنتاج “العاقل: تاريخ مصوّر“، وهو تصوّر جريء يحوّل كتاب “العاقل” إلى سلسلة روايات مصوّرة مليئة بالظرافة والفكاهة والألوان. ويظهر يوفال نوح هراري في هذه الكتب المصورة كدليل يأخذ القارئ في رحلة إلى تاريخ النوع البشري بأكمله، مصحوباً بعدد من الشخصيات الخيالية تسافر جميعاً في الزمن والفضاء والإسقاطات الثقافية الشعبية. سوف تصدر السلسلة في 5 مجلدات، وقد نشر منها مجلدين بالفعل.

حازت كتب البرفِسور هراري على جوائز عديدة، فقد حاز في عام 2021 على الجائزة الفخرية التي تمنحها الجمعية الأمريكية لمراسلي الصحافة الأجنبية، وفي عام 2020 مُنح دكتوراة فخرية من جامعة بروكسل الحرة، وجائزة سيتك للمؤلف في الصين عن كتاب العاقل: تاريخ مصوّر. وفي عام 2019، كُرّم كتاب “21 درساً” بجائزة “الكتاب المعرفي للعام” من قبل المجلة الألمانية بِلد دير فِسِنشافت، وكرّمت جامعة جاجيلونيان البولندية كتاب “الإنسان الإله” باعتباره “أكثر كتب العام حصافة وبعدَ نظرٍ”. وحاز كتاب “العاقل” على جائزة “الكتاب الأكاديمي للعام” وهي إحدى جوائز الكتب الأكاديمية البريطانية. وحاز كتاب “الإنسان الإله” في 2017 على جائزة هاندلسبلات الألمانية للكتاب الاقتصادي كونه “أكثر كتب العام الاقتصادية عمقاً وتأثيراً”، وحصل كتاب “العاقل” على جائزة كتاب وينجين الصينية في عام 2015.

يحاضر يوفال نوح هراري في جميع أنحاء العالم حول الموضوعاتِ التي طرقها في كتبهِ ومقالاتهِ، ويقدّم معرفته ووقته تطوعاً لمختلف المنظمات والفعاليات. ينشرُ هراراي في صحفٍ عالميةٍ مثل الجارديان وفاينانشال تايمز وصحيفة نيويورك تايمز ومجلة التايم ومجلة إيكونومست. وفي عام 2020 كان لهراري حضور إعلامي بارز حيث كتب وأجرى مقابلات مكثفة حول أزمة فيروس كورونا العالمية، وناقش آثار الوباء في مختلف القنوات الإخبارية الرئيسة بما في ذلك قنوات سي إن إن وبي بي سي، كما ظهر هراري في عام 2021 في ملف تعريفي مطوّل في برنامج 60 دقيقة على قناة سي بي إس.

About

Prof. Yuval Noah Harari is a historian, philosopher, and the bestselling author of Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow, 21 Lessons for the 21st Century, and Sapiens: A Graphic History. His books have sold over 35 million copies in 65 languages, and he is considered one of the world’s most influential public intellectuals today. 

Born in Israel in 1976, Harari received his Ph.D. from the University of Oxford in 2002 and is currently a lecturer at the Department of History in the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. In 2019, following the international success of his books, Yuval Noah Harari co-founded Sapienship with his husband and original agent, Itzik Yahav. Sapienship is a social impact company with projects in the fields of entertainment and education, whose main goal is to focus the public conversation on the most important global challenges facing the world today.

Yuval Noah Harari gave keynote speeches on the future of humanity in Davos 2020 and 2018, on the World Economic Forum’s main Congress Hall stage. He regularly discusses global issues with heads of state and has had public conversations with Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz, Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte, and Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis. Harari has also met with French President Emmanuel Macron, German Chancellor Angela Merkel of Germany, Argentine President Mauricio Macri, German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, and Shanghai’s Mayor Ying Yong. In 2019, Harari sat down for a filmed discussion on technology and the future of society with Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg, and in 2018 he presented the first ever TED talk delivered by a digital avatar.

Harari originally specialized in world history, medieval history, and military history. His current research focuses on macro-historical questions such as: What is the relationship between history and biology? What is the essential difference between Homo sapiens and other animals? Is there justice in history? Does history have a direction? Did people become happier as history unfolded? What ethical questions do science and technology raise in the 21st century?

Published in 2014, Harari’s Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind has become an international hit, with over 21 million copies sold. It is a New York Times top 10 bestseller, which has stayed on the paper’s bestseller list for over half the time it has been available in the US, over a six year period.  The book held positions #1-#3 on the Sunday Times’ bestseller list for 96 consecutive weeks. Sapiens was recommended by Barack Obama, Bill Gates, Natalie Portman, Janelle Monáe, Chris Evans, and many others. The Guardian has credited Sapiens with revolutionizing the non-fiction market and popularizing ‘brainy books’.

In 2016 Prof. Harari returned with Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow, a critically acclaimed book that examines the big future projects facing humanity in the 21st century. Since its publication, over 9 million copies of the book have been sold worldwide.

After venturing deep into the past and then the future, Yuval Noah Harari published 21 Lessons for the 21st Century in 2018. Here he stopped to take the pulse of our current global climate, focusing on the biggest questions of the present moment: What is really happening right now? What are today’s greatest challenges and choices? What should we pay attention to? Over 5 Million copies of 21 Lessons have been sold worldwide.

In 2020 Harari (as creator and co-writer) joined forces with renowned comics artists David Vandermeulen (as co-writer) and Daniel Casanave (as illustrator). Together, they created Sapiens: A Graphic History – a radical adaptation of the original Sapiens into a graphic novel series that is bursting with wit, humour and colour. These illustrated books cast Yuval Noah Harari in the role of guide, who takes the reader through the entire history of the human species, accompanied by a range of fictional characters and traveling through time, space and popular culture references. The series will be published in five volumes, with the first two books already available.

Prof. Harari’s writings have received several accolades. In 2021 he was presented with a US Association of Foreign Press Correspondents Honorary Award. In 2020, he was awarded an honorary doctorate from VUB (the Free University of Brussels), and received the CITIC Author of the Year prize in China, for Sapiens: A Graphic History. In 2019, 21 Lessons was honoured as ‘Knowledge Book of the Year’ by the German magazine Bild der Wissenschaft, Homo Deus was recognized as the ’Wise Book of the Year’ by Krakow’s Jagiellonian University, and Sapiens won the ‘Academic Book of the Year’ prize at the UK’s Academic Book Trade Awards. In 2017 Homo Deus received Handelsblatt’s German Economic Book Award for “the most thoughtful and influential economic book of the year”, and in 2015 Sapiens won China’s Wenjin Book Award.

Yuval Noah Harari lectures around the world on the topics explored in his books, and offers his knowledge and time to various audiences on a voluntary basis. He writes articles for publications such as The Guardian, The Financial Times, The New York Times, TIME and The Economist, andin 2020 wrote and interviewed extensively on the global COVID-19 crisis discussing the pandemic’s implications on major news channels, including CNN and the BBC. Harari was featured in a profile piece on CBS’ 60 Minutes programme in 2021.